The department of geology was established in 1974 as an academic unit of the University of Dar es Salaam. Currently, the department forms one of many departments of the College of Natural and Applied Sciences (CoNAS) of the University of Dar es Salaam. We are guided by the mission, vision and values of the University of Dar es Salaam. Our main duties are teaching, researching, and public services through consultancy.

We do offer the four years undergraduate degree programmes:

  • B.Sc. in Geology,
  • B.Sc. with Geology,
  • B.Sc. Engineering Geology and
  • B.Sc. Petroleum Geology

as well as postgraduate degree programmes by research (Thesis) and coursework & dissertation (MSc and PhD).

We conduct research in different fields of Earth Sciences e.g. hydrogeology, economic geology, gemmology, geochemistry, geophysics and environmental sciences.